First Interview Experience

HELLLOOOO !!!…to anyone who’s reading this.

How is your day going today? My day is going pretty fantastic. A little over 13 hours of sleep, street food and ice-cream. Talk about guilty pleasures of life ha! Enough to make me happy. πŸ˜€

Although I kind of deserved it after a couple of mentally stressful days. College interview, you see. After a panicky and quick revision of stuff that I studied in high school (you should remember the basics, they say) and the national and international current affairs, two almost-break-down-moments, and asking my father to cancel the tickets, all because I was having cold feet, everything went surprisingly well. The first two rounds were okay (or I might have just screwed them) , I don’t know! But let’s just fast forward to the personal interview round. The only round I was dreading the most. One minute into it and I knew I could do it. No academics, thank the heavens! Everything personal. From two uses of a toffee wrapper, to a couple questions about HR, leadership skills, to ‘describe your city’ to ‘Have you ever been into a fight? Don’t you think it’s time you got into one?’ kind of weird questions, everything just turned out to be a super smooth ride. But before all of that, I think I already had them when I was asked about my reading choices. But the absolute golden moment was when I realized that one of the two interviewers was a movie buff too. (To be honest, this is the whole point I’m writing this post because more than 30 hours since it happened, and I’m still in awe because HOW COOL IS THAT!!! ) Can I just say that we really ‘hit it off well’ because of our mutual love for the movies? Honestly, he didn’t look like a man who would be much interested in it, until he brought up Birdman and had me like HE KNOWS ABOUT IT!?! (And for the fact, yes, in my country, that was an unusual thing to know about, until now, of course, when it has won an oscar) And that wasn’t it, he also asked me what I thought of The Theory Of Everything (I was the first to mention it, btw), PK, Badlapur and Baby. Right up my alley! I could talk about movies for hours! Not to mention, after everything, he said, that maybe I’m making a ‘wrong career choice’. Okay, now that’s a direction I wasn’t hoping that he would take. I don’t know whether they had ‘wow-she-is-a-book/movie-nerd-I-totally-like-her’ kind of impression or ‘too-much-into-fiction-not-serious-about-career’ kind of impression. I’m hoping it’s not the latter one. But anyway, it was absolute fun for me, at least. So that’s the story of my first interview.

Also, now that we’re talking about movies, I think it’s only fair to mention HOW HAPPY I AM THAT EDDIE TOOK HOME THE OSCAR. YAASSSSS!!! I was rooting for him all along. And this is the first time in 7 years that someone I was rooting for has won. Although I’m a bit gutted about Interstellar not making the most out of the only four nominations it had. Especially Hans Zimmer. Because, let’s face it, that man deserved it more than anyone else. (Damn you, academy awards, what do you have against big commercially successful movies?)

Okay, so that’s all about it. What did you think of the Oscars?

Also, it’s unbelievable that you read this post till the end. That’s great! πŸ™‚

Have a good night’s sleep.
Later,
Srishti.

3 thoughts on “First Interview Experience

  1. First of all congratulations to u! I already knew u will rock. And im pretty sure when he said u r making a wrong career choice he meant that u are such an amazing person u should be doing smthng much more fun.like being a talk show host πŸ˜‰ πŸ˜› but im glad it went so well πŸ˜€

    • Okay, first off, YOU COMMENTED!?!
      You just made my day, seriously. I’m on friggin cloud 9. πŸ˜€
      Secondly, I didn’t mention anything about him saying that ‘talk show host’ thing to me here. And you just brought it up so… you know how flattering that sounds, but let’s face it, typical ‘khayali pulav’ idea hai. If anything, I think you’d do a hundred times better than me in that field. πŸ˜‰ πŸ™‚
      Oh and also, thank you. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

