Ready to say goodbye to my teens…

20th-birthday-jokesJust a month more before I wave goodbye to my teenage years forever and that, with a smile because they were brilliant and I wouldn’t change a thing about it, if given a chance (excluding some exceptionally embarassing moments but anyway…). But I refuse to believe that they were the BEST part of my life like most people say.

A lot of people around me (of same age as me) get really anxious about turning into an adult. I mean they’re literally dreading the day they’ll turn 20 or have already turned into an adult but still find it hard to accept it. And that can be real funny sometimes when you remind them this fact and they flip out. But seriously though, I think teens are so over-rated. I mean OVERLY over-rated.

I know, there are no responsibilities, you don’t have to think about life or anything for that matter except for yourself. And you are free to act anyway you want, no matter how crazy, and you can always be excused for that because it’s normal. Perfect life, right! But that’s just a general perspective of how people see it. The truth is far from it. I’m not saying I had a bad one, I’m just saying that it wasn’t always unicorns and rainbows, you know. I had my fair share of bad days, better days and a lot of utterly brilliant ones too like everybody does. But that doesn’t mean I want to just stick to this age group forever. The simple reason is that life has so much more in it’s treasure and I can’t wait to see it. And anyway, age is not a reason to act in a certain way or do certain things or like certain stuff.

I don’t want to say this but I’ve never quite felt like a teenager, to be honest. (I don’t know how I missed that rebellious phase everyone talks about, my parents are so lucky. Except for some days when i gave them real hell, I’m not perfect, come on, what were you expecting?… But no seriously.) And the weird thing is that I don’t even remember what I was like before 15. I mean I remember what I liked to do and what I loved, and I still clearly remember some wonderful times I had in those days, etc. But I don’t remember what I was like as a person, what my thinking was like or who I was, if you know what I mean. Or maybe I just never got over Harry Potter to think  about anything else. So I think it’s safe to say, that I’ve already forgotten half of my teenage years.

But long story short, that’s just how life is. You grow up and you forget what you were before, especially in your childhood days. And I think that’s the real reason why people don’t want to turn into adults. Because that’s really scary. But this shouldn’t keep us from being excited for the future. Having seen so many good days, we may think that there can’t be anything in the world better than that, so we tend to stick to the past and find it hard to let it go. But we forget that there are always  infinte possibilities in the universe and infinite number of chances for us to make it better. Of course, childhood is great but you never know, what life holds for you. So the only way we have is to move forward and embrace what life shows us and being positive about it.

Woah! So this post turned really idealistic really fast. I already feel so mature writing like this. But frankly, I didn’t think about writing such serious stuff when I sat down to write. And I’m in no way such a perfect happy person to accept everything that comes my way (as you’d assume by this post). And this is something I need to accept more than anyone else because I may not be worried about age, but I’m the biggest nostalgic person I know.

And in a way, I think I’ve kind of started this blog at a right time. Leaving behind my old blog, with all it’s kiddish rants and concerns, I’m moving ahead with this one, the more mature and sensible one. Possibly calling it kiddish when I’m 40 and looking back to it.

So if you’re reading this, and you can relate to me, just embrace what’s coming, don’t expect too much or too less and be positive. And that’s what I’m going to do. No need to be so emotional, we’re not dying. Ok. And anyway… *raises butterbeer mug*…  TWENTIESSSS! RIGHT?????? 😀

Leave a Reply

