The Fault In Our Stars

tumblr_mbjw6tjIbI1rr0l34o1_500_large

It’s been a while since I last posted anything on here. And I feel kind of gulity for abandoning this blog for about a month. And I don’t really have anything new to post here. So here’s a book review of The Fault In our Stars which I wrote an year ago on my other blog. SAnyway, it’s currently the most talked about young adult fiction, now that it’s movie is due next month. And also it’s one of the only few romantic books that I’ve read and loved. So here it is, until I come back with a brand new post. 🙂

SPOILER ALERT: Don’t read this review if you’re thinking of reading the book..

Summary from Goodreads

 Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

Review

This was the first book I read by John Green and wow! I was amazed at the beauty of it. As much as I had heard about this one, it totally lived up to my expectations. ‘Phenomenal’ and ‘Exceptional’ are the kind of words I would like to use to describe this book. Even that sounds like an understatement.

What I liked the most about this book was that the lead characters, Hazel Grace and Augustus Waters are so brilliantly developed that you actually start to feel what they feel. You feel their pain, their happiness, their love, you live with them and a part of your heart dies with the death of Augustus. This book is not entirely written as a typical ‘cancer book’ where all you feel is sympathy for the characters.  It’s much more than that, you feel the meaning of love in its truest sense and you laugh with tears in your eyes when Isaac (friend) reads his eulogy for Augustus. Hazel’s passion for the book ‘An Imperial Affliction’ is another thing which I really liked in this book. Her emotional attachment to the book that nothing else seems more important than knowing how its characters end up is something you’ll most probably relate to. Also, the Hazel’s fear of being a ‘grenade’ and that of Augustus of not dying for a greater good gives a true insight into the minds of people who are close to dying.

So unfortunate and disheartening that this book is, that you will bawl your eyes out by the end of it. So much that I read the last letter a couple of time before putting it down because it was so beautiful. I won’t say that it’s the perfect book ever, because there are instances where you’d feel like the kind of stuff they say, is way too mature than for a teenager to say. Also, it’s a book targeted at only teenage/young adult readers. But despite the imperfections that this book has, the sad and tragic story of the two star crossed lovers, who know their love won’t last long, would dig a way into your heart, because it’s just too cute and heart wrenching, not to. It tells you that life doesn’t have to be perfect for you to enjoy it. I’m not sure if I’m truly doing justice with the powerful sentiments that this book holds by articulating what I feel about this book the way I’m doing, because it’s just beyond anything describable. Like in the words of Augustus “My thoughts are stars that I can’t fathom into constellations”.

A tear jerking, heart wrenching book which is capable of making you laugh whilst you cry in pain, adorably written and a must read.

Here I leave you with some quotes I liked from this book:

  • “Much of my life had been devoted to trying not to cry in front of people who loved me, so I knew what Augustus was doing. You clench your teeth. You look up. You tell yourself that if they see you cry, it will hurt them, and you will be nothing but a Sadness in their lives, and you must not become a mere sadness, so you will not cry, and you say all of this to yourself while looking up at the ceiling, and then you swallow even though your throat does not want to close and you look at the person who loves you and smile.”
  • “There will come a time when all of us are dead. All of us. There will come a time when there are no human beings remaining to remember that anyone ever existed or that our species ever did anything. There will be no one left to remember Aristotle or Cleopatra, let alone you. Everything that we did and built and wrote and thought and discovered will be forgotten and all of this will have been for naught. Maybe that time is coming soon and maybe it is millions of years away, but even if we survive the collapse of our sun, we will not survive forever. There was time before organisms experienced consciousness, and there will be time after. And if the inevitability of human oblivion worries you, I encourage you to ignore it. God knows that’s what everyone else does.”
  • But, I cannot tell you how thankful I am for our little infinity. I wouldn’t trade it for the world. You gave me a forever within the numbered days, and I’m grateful.”
2 thoughts on “The Fault In Our Stars

  1. I am usually not one for romantic novels, but this seems to be something different than the usual batches of sappy puppy-love chicklits on the shelves. I am not sure if it has Indonesian translation already (the original untranslated edition will be too expensive), but if the movie’s coming, I guess it’s only a matter of time.

    • You’re right to think that this is something different. And trust me, I’m not into cheesy romance too, so if I like it, I’m sure you’ll like it too. I really hope you get the translated version there very soon. : ) x

Leave a Reply

